The Mama's And The Papa's - If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears (LP)

The Mama's And The Papa's - If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears (LP)
Price: 21.90€
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

The Mamas & The Papas' 1966 debut If You Can Believe Your Eyes And Ears was both a landmark in the band's career and in the pop-rock pantheon in general. This was the record on which the sharp pop sensibilities and impeccable harmonies of Cass Elliot, Denny Doherty, John Phillips, and Michelle Phillips really came together for the first time. Produced by confidant Lou Adler, the album opened with the quartet's No. 1 smash "Monday, Monday" and includes another of their all-time signatures, "California Dreamin'." Monday, Monday" is followed by the bass-heavy rocker "Straight Shooter," then a ticking clock underscores the melancholy vibe of "Got A Feelin'." There are further typically classy original compositions in "Go Where You Wanna Go," "Somebody Groovy," and "Hey Girl." The group also put their stamp on Leiber & Stoller's "Spanish Harlem," Bobby Freeman's "Do You Wanna Dance," and the Turtles' "You Baby." The album culminates with Cass Elliot's take on Billy Page's "The ‘In' Crowd." This vinyl reissue includes the original cover image, which was censored at the time for showing a toilet.

  1. Monday, Monday
  2. Straight Shooter
  3. Got A Feelin'
  4. I Call Your Name
  5. Do You Wanna Dance
  6. Go Where You Wanna Go
  7. California Dreamin'
  8. Spanish Harlem
  9. Somebody Groovy
  10. Hey Girl
  11. You Baby
  12. The "In" Crowd


Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2021