Ben Harper - Bloodline Maintenance (CD)

Ben Harper - Bloodline Maintenance (CD)
Price: 18.90€
Format: CD
Availability: ► OUT OF STOCK ◄

   - OR -   
This product has a minimum quantity of 13579

Ben Harper returns with his eagerly anticipated, fiercely personal soulful album, Bloodline Maintenance. The album is preceded by the single "We Need To Talk About It" which, propelled by Harper's blisteringly funky guitar, defiantly addresses the wounds of slavery through a sharp-edged call-and-response with gospel backing vocals and pounding rhythms augmented by the distinctive sound of the African talking drum. "This whole album is really soul music reinterpreted with a lap steel," Harper says. "I believe strongly that music has this great capacity for communication like a sonic newsprint. And I've always believed that the music I write has a place in the choir."

The new album is a work largely inspired by the loss of a long-time friend and the lingering influence of a mercurial and charismatic father, Bloodline Maintenance sees Harper performing the majority of the instruments on his own, spanning guitar, bass, drums and an eclectic assortment of percussions including a plastic toy snare. His seventeenth studio LP – and first since 2020's instrumental Winter Is For Lovers – and the first non-instrumental solo album of new songs since 2016. The new album is further fueled by Harper's signature lap steel, supercharged through a powerful Dumble amplifier creating a truly unruly tone that Harper describes as "a sort of a merging of Robert Johnson and Jimi Hendrix."

1. Below Sea Level
2. We Need To Talk About It
3. Where Did We Go Wrong
4. Problem Child
5. Need To Know Basis
6. It Ain’t No Use
7. More Than Love
8. Smile At The Mention
9. Honey, Honey
10. Knew The Day Was Comin’
11. Maybe I Can’t

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2022