The Black Keys - Brothers: 10th Anniversary (9 x 7" Vinyl Box Set)

The Black Keys - Brothers: 10th Anniversary (9 x 7" Vinyl Box Set)
Price: 84.90€
Format: 7"
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

Deluxe 10th Anniversary 9 x 7" Vinyl Box Set featuring Fully Remastered Audio and Three Bonus Tracks Plus 60-Page Book with New Liner Notes by David Fricke and Previously Unseen Photos!

The maturation of the Black Keys as record makers and performers has been both subtle and startling. With their 2008 Nonesuch release Attack & Release, the fifth album of their then eight-year career which doubled the sales of their previous album and Nonesuch debut Magic Potion, guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney illustrated the durability of their few-frills sound, a mysterious and heavy brew of 70s vintage rock, classic R&B and timeless, downhearted blues. Producer and pal Danger Mouse, their first outside collaborator, didn't try to reinvent their sound but further isolated its essence with the help of a few carefully chosen guest players and some retro-modern electronic gear.

Danger Mouse returned to co-produce lead single "Tighten Up" on 2010's 2x Platinum, multi-Grammy winning Brothers, but for the most part, the duo was on its own, spending ten days at the legendary Muscle Shoals studio in Alabama and coming up with the an even more intensely focused, deeply soulful set that includes a cover of Jerry Butler's "Never Gonna Give You Up." The performances are inventive and impassioned: Auerbach extends his vocal range to falsetto on lead-off track "Everlasting Light" and "The Only One"; "Howlin' For You" opens with a Gary Glitter-style drum riff and the chorus practically invites singing along. The tunes offer a surprising amount of lyrical candor and more than a little dark humor; the grooves alternate between ballsy swagger and bluesy rumination. The album reflects where Auerbach and Carney had been lately, most recently collaborating with a who's who of New York City MCs, including RZA, Q Tip, Mos Def, and Raekwon on the 2009 BlakRoc album. They also pursued projects on their own, Auerbach with his solo Keep It Hid album and tour, Carney with his band Drummer and its debut disc, Feels Good Together

Brothers was primarily cut in Muscle Shoals, a setting that turned out to have more in common with the Akron, Ohio factories where the Black Keys used to record. The place was desolate, the town depressed, so once again the duo slipped into a world all its own. They did additional recording at Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound System in Akron and The Bunker in Brooklyn. The album was mixed by engineer Tchad Blake, a veteran of sessions with Los Lobos, Pearl Jam, and Peter Gabriel. Said Carney, "The way he approaches mixing is the same way we approach making music. Respecting the past while being in the present."

This new Deluxe 9 x 7" vinyl box set celebrates Brothers' 10th Anniversary and boasts fully remastered audio and three previously unavailable songs. Additionally, the set contains a 60-page book featuring new liner notes written by David Fricke and a slew of previously unseen photos. The cover for the box set features heat sensitive ink that displays the text.

• Deluxe 10th Anniversary 9 x 7" vinyl box set
• Fully remastered audio
• Featuring three previously unavailable tracks
• 60-page book featuring new liner notes written by David Fricke and previously unseen photos
• Box set cover features heat sensitive ink that displays the text

Disc 1

  1. Everlasting Light
  2. Next Girl

Disc 2

  1. Tighten Up
  2. Howlin' for You

Disc 3

  1. She's Long Gone
  2. Black Mud

Disc 4

  1. The Only One
  2. Too Afraid to Love You

Disc 5

  1. Ten Cent Pistol
  2. Sinister Kid

Disc 6

  1. The Go Getter
  2. I'm Not the One

Disc 7

  1. Unknown Brother
  2. Never Gonna Give You Up

Disc 8

  1. These Days
  2. Chop and Change

Disc 9

  1. Keep My Name Outta Your Mouth
  2. Black Mud Part II

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2021