Elton John - Jewel Box: Rarities And B-Sides (3LP)

Elton John - Jewel Box: Rarities And B-Sides (3LP)
Price: 36.90€
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

40-Track Vinyl 3LP Collection featuring Selections of Elton John's Highly Sought After '60s and Early-'70s Demos Plus a Series of Non-Album B-Sides; Culled from Catalog Extensive Jewel Box with All Audio Mastered at Abbey Road Studios by Grammy-Winning Engineer Sean Magee

This gatefold vinyl 3LP-set brings together highlights from the catalog extensive Jewel Box and includes selections of Elton John's much sought-after 1960s and early 1970s demos, never previously released, plus a series of Elton's non-album B-sides. Rarities 1965-1971 – Elton's much sought-after 1960s and early 1970s demos and music that cemented the foundations of the iconic John-Taupin writing partnership. The compelling, previously unreleased, missing piece in his illustrious story. B Sides 1976-2005 – Flipsides, never before compiled together. Those B-Side gems that are now given another chance to sparkle.

Most of the demos were recorded during sessions before Elton was signed to a recording contract or released his first album. Previously unreleased, "Sing Me No Sad Songs" was written and recorded as a band demo in 1969 and is a fascinating first taste of what was to come from Elton and lyricist Bernie Taupin, and one that mentions not one, but two, future smashes in its lyrics - "Sad Songs (Say So Much)" from 1984's Breaking Hearts album and Elton's first UK chart-topping single "Don't Go Breaking My Heart" from 1976. Also included are the first song ever written by Elton and his debut appearance on a record (both "Come Back Baby" - 1965), Elton and Bernie's first composition ("Scarecrow" - 1967), and newly-unearthed piano/vocal demos of some of Elton's most acclaimed songs from his early albums.


  1. Come Back Baby (Bluesology)
  2. Scarecrow (Piano/Tambourine Demo)
  3. A Dandelion Dies In The Wind (Piano Demo)
  4. Velvet Fountain (Piano Demo)
  5. Get Out Of This Town (Piano/Tambourine Demo)
  6. Countryside Love Affair (Piano Demo)
  7. The Witch's House (Piano Demo)
  8. Year Of The Teddy Bear (Piano Demo)
  9. A Little Love Goes A Long, Long Way (Piano Demo)
  10. Mr. Lightning Strikerman (Piano Demo)
  11. I Couldn't Fall In Love With Anybody Else (Piano Demo)
  12. I Get A Little Bit Lonely (Piano Demo)
  13. Nina (You're My Woman Now) (Band Version)
  14. Angel Tree (Piano/Guitar/Tambourine Demo)
  15. Here's To The Next Time (Piano/Tambourine Demo)
  1. Watching The Planes Go By (Band Demo)
  2. When The First Tear Shows (Arranged Band Version)
  3. Tartan Coloured Lady (Arranged Band Version)
  4. When I Was Tealby Abbey (Piano Demo)
  5. Turn To Me (Arranged Band Version)
  6. And The Clock Goes Round (Piano Demo)
  7. I Can't Go On Living Without You (Arranged Band Version)
  8. Regimental Sgt. Zippo (Band Version)
  9. Cry Willow Cry (Band Demo)
  10. Skyline Pigeon (Piano Demo)
  11. Two Of A Kind (Arranged Band Demo)
  12. The Girl On Angel Pavement (Arranged Band Demo)
  13. Smokestack Children (Arranged Band Demo)
  14. There's Still Time For Me (Piano/Guitar/Tambourine Demo)
  1. The Tide Will Turn For Rebecca (Piano Demo)
  2. Taking The Sun From My Eyes (Arranged Band Version)
  3. Sing Me No Sad Songs (Band Demo)
  4. Rolling Western Union (Piano Demo)
  5. Amoreena (Piano Demo)
  6. Madman Across The Water (Piano Demo)
  7. Snow Queen
  8. The Retreat
  9. Billy And The Kids
  10. Medicine Man
  11. Peter's Song


Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2020