Kuniyuki - Walking In The Naked City (2LP)

Kuniyuki - Walking In The Naked City (2LP)
Price: 31.90€
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

Second time around for Kuniyuki Takahashi's 2009 album "Walking In The Naked City", a fine fusion of future jazz and luscious deep house that was previously only available on CD. It's great that the set has finally dropped on wax, because the album remains one of the experienced Japanese producer's most impressive works. Laden with atmospheric field recordings, drowsy chords, smooth grooves and layered African and South American style percussion, the set contains a swathe of Kuniyuki claassics including "Night Forest", the jazz-funk influenced, flute-heavy brilliance of "Come With Us", the organ-laden vocal bliss of "Storm (Instrumental)", the Kyoto Jazz Massive-esque "First Experience" and the piano ambient wonder that is "Life Story". In a word: essential.

Since 2005, Kuniyuki Takahashi has released over a dozen records on Mule, and Walking in the Naked City will be his third full-length release. Kuniyuki recruited a number of guest appearances for the album, including jazz pianist Fumio Itabashi and frequent collaborator Henrik Schwarz, who lends his rarely heard vocal talents to the track "Once Again." Like much of Kuniyuki's work in the past, Walking in the Naked City balances jazz and world music aesthetics with a deep house production style. The record's overall vibe is soulful and organic, with flutes, natural percussion and piano complimenting Kuniyuki's crisp electronic sounds.

01. Once Again feat. Henrik Schwarz & Fumio Itabashi
02. First Experience feat. Fumio Itabashi
03. Naaga feat. Yoshihiro Tsukahara
04. Forest of Night
05. Life Story
06. Deep Love
07. Storm feat. Josee Hurlock
08. Set Me Free (Organ Dub)
09. River feat. Fumio Itabashi
10. Deliverance feat. Tuomi

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2021