Freddie Mercury - Mr. Bad Guy (CD)

Freddie Mercury - Mr. Bad Guy (CD)
Price: 14.90€
Format: CD
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

2019 Special Edition 180g Vinyl LP Reissue Sourced from the Original Multi-Track Tapes by Queen's Longtime Sound Team Justin Shirley-Smith, Kris Fredriksson & Joshua J Macrae!

For this 2019 ‘Special Edition' of the Mr Bad Guy album, Queen's longtime sound team of Justin Shirley-Smith, Joshua J Macrae and Kris Fredriksson have taken the very best original source material available. They went back not to previously remastered and mixed tapes, but to the original source multi-track tapes, so that they could build a new mix true to Freddie's original versions, now taking advantage of the time, resources and technology that Freddie may not have originally had available to him in the 1980s. All offer ultimate quality, first generation vocals showing off Freddie's incredible vocal range.

In early 1983, hot on the heels of a series of exhaustive Queen tours, Freddie Mercury and German record producer Reinhold Mack returned to Musicland studios in Munich to commence recording sessions for Freddie's first solo album. Mack had already forged a working relationship with the band, having co-produced Flash Gordon, The Game and Hot Space. What emerged in April 1985, was a rich fusion of material spanning the entire spectrum of human emotion; from the upbeat optimism of "I Was Born To Love You" and "Let's Turn It On," to the subdued poignancy of "Love Me Like There's No Tomorrow" and "There Must Be More To Life Than This." 

For the most part, Mr. Bad Guy finds Freddie in typically jovial mood, enjoying a particularly creative period, and in fine voice. The music is vibrant and the lyrics as candid as ever, taking on issues never very far from Freddie's consciousness, evident on songs like "Living On My Own," "Your Kind Of Lover," "Foolin' Around," "My Love Is Dangerous" and the album's semi-autobiographical title track. Intriguingly, two tracks from this album began life during sessions for Queen albums, but were ultimately left off and later reworked by Freddie on his own. "There Must Be More To Life Than This" dates back to the 1981 Hot Space sessions, while "Man Made Paradise" first emerged in 1983, during the making of The Works.

Mr. Bad Guy spawned four singles, "I Was Born To Love You," "Made In Heaven," "Living On My Own" and "Love Me Like There's No Tomorrow," the third of which, was later to provide Freddie with his first and only solo No. 1.

  1. Let's Turn It On
  2. Made In Heaven
  3. I Was Born to Love You
  4. Foolin' Around
  5. Your Kind Of Lover
  6. My Bad Guy
  7. Man Made Paradise
  8. There Must Be More to Life Than This
  9. Living on My Own
  10. My Love Is Dangerous
  11. Love Me Like There's No Tomorrow


Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2020