Mott The Hoople - Mental Train: The Island Years 1969-1971 (6CD Box Set)

Mott The Hoople - Mental Train: The Island Years 1969-1971 (6CD Box Set)
Price: 44.90€
Format: CD
Availability: Out Of Stock

   - OR -   

November 2nd sees the release of a superb, new 6-disc boxed set encapsulating legendary English Rock-band Mott the Hoople’s recorded output for Island Records, to whom they were signed between1969 and 1971. Bringing together all of their albums from the period, the set also includes bonus material plus BBC sessions and live concerts. The studio albums have all been remastered from the original tapes (where available) by renowned engineer Andy Pearce and have been complemented by bonus tracks selected by Mott the Hoople expert, Kris Needs. Disc 5 comprises more unheard and, in some cases, unreleased music from the Island archive and Disc 6 rounds everything off with live material recorded at Fairfield Hall, Croydon on 13th September 1970, plus a BBC Radio One In Concert from the Paris Theatre, London on 30th December 1971. The CDs are housed in a shoe box style package with a 50-page booklet designed by Phil Smee, who scoured the archives for rare photos and memorabilia, tracing the evolution of the band. It is completed with comprehensive sleeve notes by Kris Needs.

Originally released November 22 1969 – Island Records ILPS 9108
1. You Really Got Me
2. At the Crossroads
3. Laugh at Me
4. Backsliding Fearlessly
5. Rock and Roll Queen
6. Rabbit Foot and Toby Time
7. Half Moon Bay
8. Wrath and Wroll
Bonus Tracks
1. If Your Heart Lay with the Rebel (Would You Cheer the Underdog?) (Instrumental Take 2)
2. Rock and Roll Queen (Single A side)
3. Road to Birmingham (Single B side)
4. Road to Birmingham (Guy Steven’s Mix)
5. You Really Got Me (Complete take)
6. You Really Got Me (Vocal mix)
7. Rock and Roll Queen (Guy Steven’s Mono Mix)
8. Rock and Roll Queen (Kitchen Sink Instrumental)
9. Little Christine (2 Miles)

Originally released September 1970 – Island Records ILPS 9119
1. Thunderbuck Ram
2. No Wheels to Ride
3. You Are One of Us
4. Walking with a Mountain
5. I Can Feel
6. Threads of Iron
7. When My Mind’s Gone
Bonus Tracks
1. Thunderbuck Ram (BBC Session)
2. Thunderbuck Ram (Original Take with Organ)
3. No Wheels to Ride (Demo)
4. Moonbus (Baby’s Got a Down on Me)
5. The Hunchback Fish (Vocal Rehearsal)
6. You Are One of Us (Take 9)
7. Going Home (2 Miles)
8. Keep A-Knockin’ (Studio version)

Originally released March 1971 – Island Records ILPS 9144
1. Whiskey Women
2. Angel of Eighth Avenue
3. Wrong Side of the River
4. Waterlow
5. Lay Down
6. It Must Be Love
7. The Original Mixed Up Kid
8. Home Is Where I Want to Be
9. Keep A-Knockin’ (Live)
Bonus Tracks
1. Midnight Lady (Single A side)
2. The Debt (Single B side)
3. Downtown (Single A side)
4. Brain Haulage (Whiskey Woman)
5. Growing Man Blues (Take 10)
6. Long Red (Demo)
7. The Ballad of Billy Joe
8. Lay Down (Take 8

Originally released December 1971 – Island Records – ILPS 9178
1. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
2. Your Own Backyard
3. Darkness, Darkness
4. The Journey
5. Sweet Angeline
6. Second Love
7. The Moon Upstairs
8. The Wheel of the Quivering Meat Conception
Bonus Tracks
1. Mental Train (The Moon Upstairs)
2. How Long? (Death May Your Santa Claus)
3. Darkness, Darkness
4. Your Own Backyard (Complete Take)
5. Where Do You All Come From (Backing Track)
6. One of the Boys (Take 2)
7. Movin’ On (2 Miles)
8. Black Scorpio (Mommas Little Jewel)

Unheard and unreleased music from the Island archive
1. Like a Rolling Stone (Fragment)
2. No Wheels to Ride (1st House)
3. Angel Of 8th Avenue (Tape 816)
4. The Journey
5. Blue Broken Tears (Tape 816)
6. Black Hills (Full Ralph’s Version)
7. Can You Sing the Song That I Sing (Full Take)
8. Till I’m Gone (2 Miles)
9. The Original Mixed Up Kid (BBC Session)
10. Ill Wind Blowing (2 Miles)
11. I’m A River (Vocal Rehearsal)
12. Ride on The Sun (Sea Diver) (2 Miles)

Tracks 1 – 7: Fairfield Hall, Croydon, 13 September 1970
Tracks 8 to 12: Paris Theatre, London, BBC Radio One, In Concert, 30 December 1971

1. Rock and Roll Queen
2. Ohio
3. No Wheels to Ride / Hey Jude
4. Thunderbuck Ram
5. Keep A-Knockin’
6. You Really Got Me
7. The Moon Upstairs
8. Whiskey Women
9. Your Own Backyard
10. Darkness, Darkness
11. The Journey
12. Death May Be Your Santa Claus

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2019