Buffy Sainte-Marie - Illuminations (Coloured LP)

Buffy Sainte-Marie - Illuminations (Coloured LP)
Price: 31.90€
Format: LP
Label: CRAFT
Availability: Out Of Stock

   - OR -   

First released in 1969, ‘Illuminations’ is the pioneering sixth studio album from the Academy Award-winning singer-songwriter and activist Buffy Sainte-Marie.

For its 50th anniversary, the album - which includes psychedelic masterpieces “Poppies” and “God Is Alive, Magic Is Afoot” - has been remastered from its original analog master by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and pressed on 180 gram opaque yellow vinyl at QRP.

Housed in an old-school-style tip-on jacket, this special reissue will be limited to 2,000 copies worldwide.

Throughout her long career, the Indigenous Canadian- American icon has been a trailblazer and a tireless advocate, an innovative artist and a disruptor of the status quo. No exception to her career, ‘Illuminations’ broke ground as one of the very first electronic vocal albums. A departure from her previous work, Illuminations incorporates vocals and acoustic guitar along with early electronic synthesizers to create an experimental sound that is wholly unique, even entering avant-garde gothic territory. AllMusic praised that Illuminations is “A treasure that is still ahead of its time,” while Wire listed the album in their roundup of “100 Albums That Set The World On Fire While No One Was Listening” in 2000. Exclaim! simply called Illuminations “Unrestrained genius.”

  1. God Is Alive, Magic Is Afoot
  2. Mary
  3. Better To Find Out For Yourself
  4. The Vampire
  5. Adam
  6. The Dream Tree
  7. Suffer The Little Children
  8. The Angel With You, Honey
  9. Guess Who I Saw In Paris
  10. He’s A Keeper Of The Fire
  11. Poppies

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2020