Carl Perkins / Jerry Lee Lewis / Roy Orbison / Johnny Cash - Class Of 55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming (LP)

Carl Perkins / Jerry Lee Lewis / Roy Orbison / Johnny Cash - Class Of 55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming (LP)
Price: 21.90€
Format: LP
Availability: In Stock

   - OR -   

180g Vinyl LP Reissue Remastered from the Original Mercury Master Tapes by Kevin Reeves at UMG Studios Nashville!

Johnny Cash is one of music's true legends and a titan in the music pantheon. While his recordings for Sun, Columbia and American have been well serviced over the years, his Mercury Records catalogue has been conspicuous in its absence in the reissue market. With the new compilation Easy Rider: The Best of the Mercury Recordings and the box set The Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991 plus stand alone 180g vinyl LP releases of Class of 55: Memphis Rock and Roll Homecoming (1986), Johnny Cash Is Coming to Town (1987), Classic Cash: Hall of Fame Series (1988), Water from the Wells of Home (1988), Boom Chicka Boom (1990), and The Mystery of Life (1991) on offer in 2020, the project is expected to deliver some richly deserved profile to an important but under-served slice of The Man In Black's repertoire. 

This deep dive into a lesser-discussed period of Cash's career provides an important link to the celebrated resurgence he enjoyed under the production of Rick Rubin with the American Recordings series, from 1994. Respected music journalist Scott Schinder notes that the recordings "stand as a notable transitional body of work, and an illuminating prelude to the full-blown creative resurgence that Cash would experience in the 1990s."

This prolific period for the Man In Black, after the end of his 30-year association with Columbia Records, encompassed six albums in five years, at a time when he was also still touring extensively. The sequence began with the fondly-remembered Class of '55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming, which reunited him with fellow alumni from the early days of Sun Records, Jerry Lee Lewis, Roy Orbison and Carl Perkins. Veteran Memphis producer Chips Moman oversaw a delightful mix of old and new material, including the Cash-led "I Will Rock and Roll with You" and the tribute to their fallen Sun comrade Elvis Presley, "We Remember The King." Another ode to Elvis, John Fogerty's "Big Train from Memphis," featured Fogerty, June Carter Cash, Rick Nelson, Dave Edmunds, Dan Penn and the Judds on the chorus.

1. Birth Of Rock And Roll
2. Sixteen Candles
3. Class Of '55
4. Waymore's Blues
5. We Remember The King 
6. Coming Home
7. Rock And Roll (Fais-Do-Do)
8. Keep My Motor Running, 
9. I Will Rock And Roll With You
10. Big Train (From Memphis)


Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Powered by Getway LLC Copyright © 2011-2021